PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Gnome Lock Screen

sccjono
May 5th, 2013, 02:03 PM
Hello all, I'm still new to Linux in general so please excuse my ignorance. I have taken the plunge and installed 12.04 LTS 64bit on my laptop and for the most part I am more than happy.

However I have tried to switch over to Gnome and although most things are working OK, I am struggling to switch to the new lock screen. As far as I know I have chosen GDM over LightDM but I still get the original lock screen. I don't know if it is relevant but I also do not have an option to choose to shutdown the system from my user dropdown menu. I have to log out fist and then choose shutdown. Am I perhaps missing some packages?

Thank you,

Frogs Hair
May 5th, 2013, 10:49 PM
If you are in the Gnome Shell install the Tweak Tool if not already and the Gnome Shell extensions. The extensions are enabled in the Tweak Tool / Advanced Settings. The alternative status menu extension displays the shutdown menu. I have not used 12.04 in a while, so I don't know if the procedure for installing extensions has changed. You may want check what current procedure is.

sccjono
May 7th, 2013, 08:57 AM
Thank you very much for the tip about the shell extensions, that worked a treat, I now have the correct menu options.

Can anyone else help with regard to the lock screen?

Jon

Frogs Hair
May 7th, 2013, 02:40 PM
Could you describe the problem more clearly , below is what I think of when you write screen lock .

sccjono
May 7th, 2013, 03:25 PM
Perhaps I should call it the "unlock screen". I was told that Gnome now has the unlock screen described here (https://help.gnome.org/misc/release-notes/3.6/users-lock-screen.html.en_GB). But mine is still showing one that looks the same as the Unity shell one. Somebody suggested that I needed to issue the following command to switch from LightDM to GDM but that has not helped.

sudo dpkg-reconfigure gdm

Jon

Frogs Hair
May 7th, 2013, 09:52 PM