PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Dual Boot Win7 & Ubuntu 12.10 - GRUB repair caused empty grub menu

beneml
May 4th, 2013, 05:04 PM
I am fairly new to Linux/Ubuntu and am in need of some help. I have dual booted Windows 7 and Ubuntu 12.10 on 2 separate hard drives. After several attempts, I was only able to get it working by changing the BIOS hd boot option. I then found some threads on repairing the boot process by using Boot-Repair. This helped somewhat but only after using EasyBCD did I get 2 menu options for Windows 7 and Ubuntu. But when I clicked on the Ubuntu option, it would only load up to the Grub prompt. So then I ran Boot-Repair again after trying to do some partion work that Ubuntu stated I needed to do and it uninstalled Grub and reinstalled it (and I think I installed it onto the windows 7 hd). Now when I boot up, it goes to the GRUB menu option but only shows System Setup as my only option. When I click on it, it prompts me with and error stating that there is no fwsetup found. I'm kinda lost from here now and just want to have Grub give me the options to boot into Windows 7 or Ubuntu 12.10. I have created the boot info file in case anyone can make heads or tails out of what is going on.

One thing I forgot to mention, which may be most of my headaches in this process, is that I have a 500GB hd for windows 7 and 60GB ssd for Ubuntu. My laptop is a Lenovo T530 which does have the option for UEFI but Windows 7 image is currently not using it. I've read that diabling UEFI in the bios is the best way to make dual boot work but it didn't seem to matter for what I was doing whether it's on or off.

I'm not at all familiar with configuring Grub so I haven't done anything to get the OS options in there.

boot-repair file: http://paste.ubuntu.com/5632548/

My objective is to keep Grub as my boot menu and have the ability to select Windows 7 and/or Ubuntu. I do want the OS's to be on separate HD's and primarily have Ubuntu on the ssd.