PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Upgrading Ubuntu 12.10 -> 13.04. Advice request.

felkar
April 28th, 2013, 02:43 AM
I note the info posted on my "upgrader" :

Welcome to Ubuntu 13.04 'Raring Ringtail'

The Ubuntu team is proud to announce Ubuntu 13.04 'Raring Ringtail'.

and would welcome "belt and braces" advice on how to undertake the upgrade.

Since I am new to Ubuntu and my network-access is temperamental, I would prefer to burn a DVD and then use it for the upgarde.

I am especially keen to hold on to the installed Ubuntu 12.10 (which works perfectly and does all that I need) until I am reasonably certain that the "upgrade" has worked.

If relevant documentation exists, please point me to it.

Thank you

felkar

BlinkinCat
April 28th, 2013, 02:53 AM
Hi,

Is this what you are after?

http://releases.ubuntu.com/13.04/

Cheers - :)

gordintoronto
April 28th, 2013, 01:13 PM
Unless there is a specific reason you want to use 13.04, you don't actually need to upgrade. If you do upgrade, you will also need to upgrade when 13.10 and 14.04 come out. (14.04 will be a long-term support release, so you can stick with it for up to five years.)

I never upgrade, I always do a fresh install. I have separate root and home partitions, so my data is undisturbed. Even so, I always have two backups; all it takes is one wrong answer, and "poof," it's all gone.

Here's some interesting reading: http://askubuntu.com/questions/202945/how-to-upgrade-from-12-04-to-12-10-using-cd

Mark Phelps
April 28th, 2013, 02:19 PM
I wouldn't upgrade just yet, if I were you. Due to limited testing, it takes a month or so for new bugs to be identified and fixed with each new release. You do better waiting a while and monitoring the forums to see what gets identified.