PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED]Ubuntu or Some other Linux Distro?

Jason Kuzhively
April 27th, 2013, 02:43 PM
Hey Guys, After I installed Ubuntu 12.10 on my PC, I had a lot of problems. After getting tired of all the BS, I installed Windows XP on my PC and removed Ubuntu. I still want to use a Linux Distro. I think it was because of 12.10 being Beta that I got all those issues so I am planning to dual-boot a linux distro with Win-XP. The question is, Should I go for Ubuntu or Some other Linux-Distro? I am tech-savvy and I am looking to explore Linux so I'm basically a beginner. If the answer is Ubuntu, then which version of Ubuntu should I go for, or if it is any other Linux Distro, then which one?

My PC Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU
E4500 @ 2.20 Ghz
2.19 Ghz, 1.99 GB of RAM

sudodus
April 27th, 2013, 03:07 PM
There are so many alternatives. If you want a version that is well debugged and stable, and will remain so for years, try Ubuntu 12.04.2 or some flavour of it, Lubuntu, Xubuntu or Kubuntu. If you want the most modern Ubuntu version, install 13.04, that was release a few days ago. Linux Mint, with Ubuntu under the hood, is a beginner-friendly distro ...

Download several iso files and try them live, booted from CD/DVD/USB before deciding what to install. Depending on hardware, you may need some boot option to get it running https://help.ubuntu.com/community/BootOptions

If you specify your computer, at least cpu, ram and graphics card/chip, you can get more specific advice about suitable flavours and versions to try.

Jason Kuzhively
April 27th, 2013, 03:27 PM
Intel Core 2 Duo CPU
E4500 @ 2.20 Ghz
2.19 Ghz, 1.99 GB of RAM

Here are my specs, Thanks for replying sudodus.

dino99
April 27th, 2013, 03:34 PM
Before being a confirmed user, everyone has been a noob, fighting with a bunch of issues, because they still thing the MS way :mad: