PDA

View Full Version : How Exactly do I Install C and C++?

VicariousToast
April 23rd, 2013, 11:17 PM
I'm obviously not smart enough to figure this out on my own, so I've come to the forums for help with this xD

I need some help installing C and C++. I searched google, but I didn't come up with anything that made sense to me. I'm still new to Linux, so I don't know what most of the stuff that I found means.

So could someone post a newb-friendly guide for me? I'm using Xubuntu 12.04.

schragge
April 23rd, 2013, 11:38 PM
sudo apt-get install build-essential should take care of it.

VicariousToast
April 23rd, 2013, 11:49 PM
I pasted the code into the terminal and ran it, but I can't find c or c++ with the Application Finder or Catfish. Where should the files be located?

steeldriver
April 23rd, 2013, 11:55 PM
What are you trying to do exactly?

C and C++ are languages (not applications) the build-essential package installs all the command line tools you should need to compile and run C/C++ code - but if you are expecting some kind of complete development environment like Microsoft's Visual Studio then you will need to install an IDE separately.

VicariousToast
April 24th, 2013, 12:23 AM
Ah, I see now. I was under the assumption that Linux used some other method that I didn't know about, instead an IDE. There was no mention of IDEs in any of the guides I found(which were specifically for Linux), and I never thought to search for IDEs(I'm having one of those days where I just can't think straight.).

steeldriver
April 24th, 2013, 12:31 AM
Well you don't need an IDE, in fact if you're just getting started there's lots to recommend just using a regular text editor and command line tools - it's often easier to get a feel for what's going on under the hood that way

kuifje09
April 24th, 2013, 01:09 AM
Then the next question is do you want just build a program or a windows/gui program.

shawnhcorey
April 24th, 2013, 02:06 PM