PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] End of a first Linux adventure "Mountall: Plymouth command failed'

Mister Max
April 22nd, 2013, 05:23 AM
Dear all,
I need some help and I wann stress, I am a total Linux/Ubuntu Newbie.

Installed Ubuntu yesterday, My ISO image is a bit older (Ubunt 10.4), but the installation was done with web connection, I believe therefore, the actual installation is more up to date... I cant check though, since Ubuntu does not boot.

A clean installation, no parallel Win OS or anything, was successful.

The frist boot after installing however produces a halt at:
"Mountall: Plymouth command failed" (in German: "Plymouth-Befehl fehlgeschlagen")
"Mountall: No connection to plymouth'' (in German: "Keine Verbindung zu Plymouth")

The Forum is still a bit of a jungle to me. Too many shortwords which I dont understand. Nonetheless, I believe this problem might not occur the first time.
I believe I understood, that Plymouth is responsible for the start up screen and other things.
Also I read somewhere, that Nvidia Graphic Controllers tend to create trouble with Plymouth.

My computer is HP Pavillon DV5 with Nvidia Graphic Controller.

Any hints on what I could do?

Thank you so much!

mlentink
April 22nd, 2013, 06:50 AM
You seem to have a working internet connection. Download a current version of ubuntu, burn it to cd/dvd or a usb stick (you can use the live version on the cd that you have) and install that. Your nVidia card will be supported with the OS drivers. or you can later install the proprietary drivers if you need to.

coldraven
April 22nd, 2013, 08:20 AM
As mlentink says, get a newer version. 12.04 LTS or if you want cutting edge get 13.04 when it is released in a few days.
I usually download the using a torrent, it is fast!
You can see all download options here: http://releases.ubuntu.com/

I usually install from a memory stick or SD card, it it faster and does not waste a CD.