PDA

View Full Version : The reason a mac still tempts me

atezun
July 11th, 2006, 11:47 PM
Now it's truly applications like this that make me love the mac os.

http://www.equinux.com/us/products/mediacentral/new_in_20.html

Now this is something I'd like to see in Ubuntu. A true one stop shop for all my time wasting needs. I wonder if how easy this would be to do in python. Oh how I wish I was a better programmer.

basketcase
July 12th, 2006, 02:06 AM
MythTV is probably the closest thing...But I do like the MAC

prizrak
July 12th, 2006, 03:28 AM
As said above Myth would probably be able to take care of all of that. I'm not a fan of Apple because of the image and pricing.

basketcase
July 12th, 2006, 03:31 AM
As said above Myth would probably be able to take care of all of that. I'm not a fan of Apple because of the image and pricing.
Image?

The prices are definitely out of my range, but my friend has 3 of them, and I like a lot of things about them, just not the price

prizrak
July 12th, 2006, 04:09 AM
Image?

The prices are definitely out of my range, but my friend has 3 of them, and I like a lot of things about them, just not the price
The whole, alternative, hip, unconventional image that Apple has been trying, successfuly I must add, to create for years. Look at the Mac vs PC commercials the Mac is all casual and stuff and PC is wearing a suit. Not to mention the whole think different compaign. Things like that tend to turn me off as I view them as pretentious and hypocritical as Apple is more closed than PC ever was and is very much out to make a profit just like MS.

sagarhshah
July 12th, 2006, 04:32 AM
I like mediacentral.
Wish there was a linux version. Then I could kick mac os off my computer.

mythtv is pretty good but mediacentral is perfect.

basketcase
July 12th, 2006, 04:34 AM
I like mediacentral.
Wish there was a linux version. Then I could kick mac os off my computer.

mythtv is pretty good but mediacentral is perfect.