PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 12.10 on HP Pavilion dv6-6c11nr Entertainment

The Catboy
April 18th, 2013, 01:15 AM
Hey everyone! ^_^ A little new here to the forums, although not new to Ubuntu since I've been using for many years actually. But recently my boyfriend and I got a new laptop, which is an HP Pavilion dv6-6c11nr Entertainment. And I have been trying to install Ubuntu on it for quite some time, but can't seem to get it to boot into the desktop. It loads the mouse, but either loops or just stays on the boot screen with the mouse there.Does anyone know how to fix this and how to install Ubuntu on my laptop? This has been bugging me for weeks now.Any help would be appreciated!-Lucario

AnaheimSam
April 18th, 2013, 08:26 AM
What works for me is if I install my video drivers. Go to your oldest Linux kernel, boot in recovery mode, and select boot.
Login, and go to software sources (System Settings>Software Sources). When you get there, you should see a tab that says "Drivers." Click that tab, and get the drivers you need. You have a laptop, so best to plug it into an Ethernet connection rather than wi-fi, just in case you don't have your wi-fi driver installed. In which case, get your wi-fi driver, too. Do this, then restart. You should now be able to get into your regular desktop in a normal fashion.

The Catboy
April 18th, 2013, 02:28 PM
I tried that and it still didn't work. Oddly enough distros like Bodhi Linux, JoliOS, and other Ubuntu based distros work just fine, just not the default Ubuntu.

illmattic
April 18th, 2013, 04:47 PM
Sorry to jump in on your thread but I have the same problem. I have a hp Pavilion dv6 and the processor is AMD A8-3510MX APU with Radeon(tm) HD graphics 1.80. I'm trying to dual boot Windows 7 and Ubuntu 12.10 together. I created the allocated space but when I put in the live-dvd and reboot windows comes up.

Matt

AnaheimSam
April 18th, 2013, 06:03 PM
The Catboy:
Same with me...