PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help! Installed Ubuntu in a Toshiba Satellite and I don't have ethernet or wifi!

ptown
April 17th, 2013, 12:23 AM
I have a Satellite l875-s7308 and I'm trying to make it where I can go online using Ubuntu 12.04 that I installed. Ethernet connection was working, but while trying to get WIFI to work on it I must have put in some command that now keeps me from getting online at all. I need some help and please talk to me like I'm five. I'm new to Ubuntu and this whole new way of doing things. My Mom hates Windows 8 which was on the computer previously and since I've used Ubuntu on an older pc with no problems I thought she would like the switch. However, that will not be the case if I can't get the internet to work on the laptop. Any help is greatly appreciated!!

ubfan1
April 17th, 2013, 05:42 AM
Guessing you have the Realtek 8723ae and the Athros 8161 for ethernet, you can either download on another machine either the wireless tarball
rtl_92ce_92se_92de_8723ae_linux_mac80211_0007.0809 .2012.tar.gz or a more current deb for the kernel (which should come with a working alx driver for ethernet). Assuming you get the wireless tarball (google for it), move it you your Toshiba via usb, unpack it, and run "make"
Then run "sudo make install"
You might have to move the two firmware files in tarballdir/firmware/rtl8723* to the /lib/firmware/rtlwifi directory.
sudo modprobe rtl8723e
and if wireless does not start, reboot.
After wireless works, run the software updater and that will bring in a working alx driver for a new kernel, and will force you to redo
the
make install for the wireless (necessary each kernel upgrade).

grahammechanical
April 17th, 2013, 03:07 PM