PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Folding@Home

U2D2
April 16th, 2013, 06:57 PM
To begin with, I am a total beginner who basically just learned that "sudo" has the same effect as "Please" in kindergarten, so i really have less than no idea of what I am doing.

With that being said, I have been trying to install Folding@Home for about two days, and i feel that my craziness-sense REALLY has started tingeling. The thing is that I manage to get the thing down and under my feet once, I created an account(i think) and got the settings in order, but as I left OpenBox, my server started dropping all my beautiful work. Could someone please direct me somewhere or instruct me through it? I Own an about 4 year bladeserver of 10 blades with quite a lot of power, and i would really like to contribute to this fantastic project.

Thank you in advance

-Rasmus

U2D2
April 16th, 2013, 06:59 PM
As I mentioned, I am trying to install it to one of the servers, just to make it clear

Cheesemill
April 16th, 2013, 07:34 PM
Installing and configuring F@H just takes a couple of commands.

First of all we need to download the F@H client installation files...

wget https://fah.stanford.edu/file-releases/public/release/fahclient/debian-testing-64bit/v7.3/fahclient_7.3.6_amd64.deb
The wget command downloads files from the internet, we're using it to download the Ubuntu F@H client from their website.

Once the download has completed we just need to tell Ubuntu to install the package...

sudo dpkg -i fahclient_7.3.6_amd64.deb

The installer will prompt you for a username, team number, passkey, system utilization profile and autostart settings.
You can safely just keep hitting ENTER to accept the default choices and you'll be up and folding straight away. If you have an existing username or team you can just enter your values instead of accepting the defaults. You don't need to register a username if you want to use one, just use it as your 'username' value.