PDA

View Full Version : Not too powerful but very physically robust laptop

sowdust
April 16th, 2013, 05:24 PM
Hello everyone,

I've been using an Acer Travelmate for over two years now, but it kept losing shine and pieces along the way. It first started with having only one of two speakers working, it than started to have problems with the audio jack, the hard disk died twice and now the screen is hanging to the keyboard only from one side.
I admit not being the most careful person, but I would expect a little more robustness from something that you pay hundreds of euros.

I don't have any experience in the hardware fields, so I'm asking you guys if you have any advice on a very robust laptop.
My budget is not very high (I would a ceiling of 500€, possibly less) but I do not require any special performance.

The laptop will be on most of the day since I'm a computer science student and I use it both for studying and working.
My intention is to have it run both Xubuntu and Windows (the latter one used mainly as a backup platform for applications urgently needed for working and that may have trouble on Xubuntu - for instance Excel and Skype).
As said above, my priority is it be very resistant: it will be carried around in a bag, used a lot, probably have some liquid poured on it.

I have done some research but found that most laptop built to be very robust are also very high performing, hence very expensive.
Is it possible to find a good compromise between resistance and price? If so, where should I point my research at?

Thanks in advance

M

Edit: I forgot to say that having an american keyboard layout and a numeric keypad would be a huge plus!

pinballwizard
April 16th, 2013, 05:33 PM
If so, where should I point my research at?

Thanks in advance

M

Edit: I forgot to say that having an american keyboard layout and a numeric keypad would be a huge plus!