PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] First Time Ubuntu Video Editor - Some Help and Doubts

ghmsweb
April 11th, 2013, 07:11 PM
Hi guys! Nice to meet you all!

Well, first of all let me say a few things about myself! I'm a brazilian Video Editor who uses Mac OS X for the las 7 years, but because of the "always increasing" taxes and prices from apple i just had to stop using Apple computers now.

The first thing i try was buy a compatible PC and Install that cool "Hackintosh thing" that evebody said that should work but the install was not stable as i think...

After some time and problems i start to use Windows 8 and, well... SUCKS! That system should never be on anything but smartphones! :(

A lot of friends told me to use Linux, always saying that Ubuntu is the best choice, but i don't want to walk in hell trying to make the install work, so i want to know if there's any hardware on my PC that don't work with 12.10 ubuntu version... This is my specs:

Intel i7 3770
16 gigs of 1600hz RAM from Corsair
gigabyte h61m-ds2h (rev 2.1) motherboard
2 AOC FullHD VGA/DVI/HDMI 23' monitors
Realtek ALC887 audio codec
USB 3.0 (i need the full speed avaliable)
corsair 650 watts real power supply
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 550 Ti

I would love to hear that i will be ok but if there's any issue, but i had to know if i'm gonna have a bad time installing and running this spec at full speed. Can anyone help me?

PS: My english sucks, so... Please, be patient with me... lol

blackbird34
April 11th, 2013, 09:06 PM
That should run nice and fast under Ubuntu. As far as I know, there should be no problems; only the graphics card might have quirks, and based on a quick Google search, they seem to have all been solved.