PDA

View Full Version : Upgrade 10.04 to 12.04 LTS, force install?

agnewton
April 4th, 2013, 04:45 AM
I am a relative newbie who searched the forum for posts to solve my problem, but I have either not hit on the right combination of terms or just don't quite have the jargon/ understanding to get it right. Please bear with me if the solution is really obvious.

The terminal use of "apt-get" suggests I force install, but I was under the impression that using "-f" is a somewhat dangerous practice for the uninitiated (I am uninitiated). With the description of the symptoms below, what are the risks of a force install and what packages should I force install? It's a loaded question, I realize. Is there another work around that would preserve my partitions and built-from-scratch applications? Can I just install the boot/ OS partition from DVD (it's on a separate partition) without losing the integrity of my /opt/, /usr/local/, and /home/ directories (they are on separate partitions; they all contain applications and packages built from scratch)?

Description of Symptoms: I used the Software Update/ Upgrade to upgrade my OS to 12.04 LTS. During the process, I began receiving messages about available disk space. Dialogs with what appeared to be font issues (Multiple small boxes, instead of characters, where the sentences would be and two blank "buttons" that functioned as "OK" and "Cancel") would appear. The "OK" option opened up a "Disk Usage"-type dialog window. Without fear, I just kept clicking through these dialogs.

On re-boot, the OS desktop will not start (surprise?). The sequence of screen messages and dialogs are as follows:

1) I get a notification of three errors a) no module specified b) no suitable mode found and c) unknown command "terminal". Then...