PDA

View Full Version : Chromium has taken over my system!

pimaster
April 3rd, 2013, 02:38 PM
Hello, I am a bit of a newbie and so probably did something terrible and disastrous!
I had a pre-installed copy of windows 7 home, then began dual booting with Ubuntu. I re-installed windows 7 then did the same with Ubuntu. Today I read about using chromium on a netbook to speed up browsing times however when I was just using it on a flashdrive it was still pretty slow so I installed it on the hdd. I had left 20GB unused unpartitioned space on it and so I presumed (more like utterly hoped). I can no longer boot up to the Ubuntu boot selection screen. Sorry that this isn't to do with Ubuntu however I didn't know where else to go.
Should I run the Ubuntu system repair disc? I have the iso file and the disc but can I put that onto my flashdrive and boot it up? Do I have to format and start again? If so, how?

Thank you very much, any help or contribution would be greatly appreciated!
Jonny

darkod
April 3rd, 2013, 03:19 PM
If you did what I think you did, you overwrote both windows and ubuntu. Chrome OS doesn't install like ubuntu, into unallocated space. It usually installs on the whole disk.

Yes, you should be able to simply reinstall both windows and ubuntu. Whether from cd or usb, up to you. Note that for usb stick you can't simply copy the files only, you need a bootloader on the stick too otherwise it can't boot.

pimaster
April 3rd, 2013, 03:37 PM
Okay, I will try that. I know how to burn iso files onto a memory stick. The one thing that made me think that it didn't delete everything is that it only took about a minute to install onto the hdd. Not even enough time do a quick format. Any ideas?

Thanks

darkod
April 3rd, 2013, 03:49 PM