PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] when i type 'Sudo su' - "User not in the sudoers file.This incident will be reported"

vishwanath18
March 30th, 2013, 12:27 PM
Hi all,

I am very new to the Ubuntu 12.10, I am facing a 2 basic problems,

1.when i type 'sudo su' in the command prompt, i am getting a Error Message as "User not in the sudoers file.This incident will be reported"
2. when i type 'visudo' i am getting "visudo: etc/sududoers:Permission Denied"

I tried lot of things to solve this issue but not succesfull

Could you anyone please help me out in this issue?

Regards,
Vishwa

dabl
March 30th, 2013, 03:09 PM
Understanding that you are new to Ubuntu, what makes you think you need to do either one of those things? Those commands would not normally be used on a Ubuntu system, even by experienced users. With "sudo" you have the needed root privilege to do any operation on the system.

The errors are both attributable to a mis-match between the user name and the given password. When Ubuntu, was installed, the installing user gave a password -- that is the only password on the system that will alow a "sudo" operation, including opening visudo to change passwords. If you don't know the original password given during installation, then you will not be able to execute any "sudo" privileged command.

matt_symes
March 30th, 2013, 03:10 PM
Hi

You should be able to fix this from a LiveCD.USB or from a root console after remounting it read/write.

But in the first instance, can you open a terminal and post the output of

groups

EDIT:

Have a good read of dabl's post first just to make sure you understand the basics - i see you are very new to Linux and Ubuntu - as i have assumed you have a problem and that may not necessarily be so.

Kind regards

ManamiVixen
March 30th, 2013, 03:31 PM
By default on Ubuntu, Root "su" is disabled. All you really need is sudo as here is no need to run as root.

matt_symes
March 30th, 2013, 03:45 PM
Hi