PDA

View Full Version : How do you install ubuntu on an ssd drive and maintain windows caching?

swagz101
March 25th, 2013, 04:29 PM
Hello,

I wanted to install ubuntu on my laptop. It's a lenovo u310 and it has a 32 gb ssd drive for caching windows and a 500 gb hard drive.

I want to know if its possible to partition the sdd drive and install ubuntu on about 10 gb of it and keep the rest of the ssd for the windows caching process. Im a college student and we use windows, so I must keep it. And I want it to run as fast as possible, can't really afford the loss in productivity. But I also want to install ubuntu though and want it to run as fast as possible.

Is it possible to do this?

Specs
-Lenovo u310
-Core i5 ulv 1.7 ghz
-500 gb hdd plus 32 gb ssd
-Windows 7

darkod
March 25th, 2013, 04:48 PM
I'm not sure, but in any case this would be a windows question, not ubuntu. You might have better luck posting it on the windows forums too. You need to know if the caching process (is it Intel RST?) can use partition instead of the whole disk. If it can, you will split it into two partitions and use one for caching the other for ubuntu.

If it can't, it doesn't look like you can use it the way you intend.

swagz101
March 25th, 2013, 04:56 PM
yea it is rst. okay i guess ill just check elsewhere thanks.

oldfred
March 25th, 2013, 07:27 PM
Some info on Intel SRT.
Intel Smart Response Technology
http://www.intel.com/p/en_US/support/highlights/chpsts/imsm
Some general info in post #3
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2071242

Some info on re-instating details in post #9 Dell 14z
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2038121
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2070491

swagz101
March 27th, 2013, 07:23 PM