PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Stuck in grub rescue - Resolved

UnknownTBeast
March 18th, 2013, 11:40 PM
OK, 99% noob here at any Linux distro. Please keep that in mind while replying.

My computer recently went caput. One of the 4 SSDs I have died (had a RAID 5 array via the mobo). Since I was unable to rebuild the array, I decided to reinstall Windows 7. For reasons beyond me, other things sempt to go wrong setting things back up. So I said screw Windows, so I installed Ubuntu. I had installed it before for a college class, and I liked it. That was v11.04.

Since I wasn't able to burn a DVD with my spare computer, and didn't want to bother doing it via USB, I used my 11.04 over the newer 12.10. Installation was hell I was finally able to install Ubuntu, but grub would not install. When it asked me if I wanted to install it elsewhere, it froze. I assumed it was v1.99 since I read somewhere that is what shipped with 11.04. I booted to the CD again this morning, and while reading found a way to mount that drive with Ubuntu installed on it, and get grub installed. It worked.