PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu no longer remembers changes

cojacfar
March 15th, 2013, 01:13 AM
I installed pyGObject last night and the newest install of GLIB. Ubuntu no longer remembers changes to my profile. It erased all of my launcher icons and changed my background. When I set new ones, it simply gets rid of them and changes to defualt when I reset my computer.

All of the programs that were on my computer are still there, but the Unity environment seems permanently screwed up. If I try to change my background now, nothing happens. It stays as the default Ubuntu one, same with the theme.

(It appears I can create bookmarks in Firefox still that persist)

Frogs Hair
March 15th, 2013, 01:19 AM
The guest account will behave this way , but have not seen this in a user account.

cojacfar
March 15th, 2013, 01:19 AM
It is in my user account. It is indeed behaving just like a guest account. I've been using it for a few months now, logged into it like normal, and cannot seem to do anything permanent.

Frogs Hair
March 15th, 2013, 01:48 AM
Open Home, right click a folder > properties > permission and see if read/write permissions have changed . It reads like all permissions have changed. I am not familiar with what you installed or if it would be the cause.

cojacfar
March 15th, 2013, 01:54 AM
Says the owner (my user name) can create and delete folders. Same for the group, which is also just my login.

I think it all seems normal. I'm able to apt-get and things like that with sudo just fine still. I followed this guide : http://gtk3lab.blogspot.com/2011/05/installing-gtk3-and-pygobject.html to install GTK3 to use. I'm assuming something in there screwed me.

Frogs Hair
March 15th, 2013, 02:06 AM
The warning was pretty stern so you may have to wait for someone using the application.