PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] I can't play a DVD film in Ubuntu

viriatovigo
March 14th, 2013, 02:57 PM
Good morning/afternoon/evening to every one.

Still I am an absolute beginner thought I did manage by now to use Ubuntu "nearly" as fluently as Windows (I have nothing anymore that smells Microsoft in my PC, enough was enough) but still remain some..."gaps"...

When I input a DVD film into the drive nothing happens. I do open VLC or Movie Player I can't see in the menu any command to play the DVD in the drive.

Actually, I have not a clue about how to see at once all the drives in my computer (CD-rom drive, C:/, etc.).

How can I play the DVD in the drive with Ubuntu and how to see all the details of my PC with Ubuntu?

With thanks in advance for your kindess and apologizing for my stupidity,

viriatovigo
(Tino)

SuperFreak
March 14th, 2013, 03:12 PM
You may have to enable Restricted Extras in Software Center (see screenshot). You should if you have these be able to open VLC or Totem and watch a DVD. It is possible to set one of these as the default player and it will open automatically when you put a DVD in (I think it is in Preferred Software (not sure as I use Cinnamon DE -in mine it is in Menu/Preferences/Details/Default Applications))

Kopkins
March 14th, 2013, 03:28 PM
If the above post doesn't work, try running this:
sudo /usr/share/doc/libdvdread4/install-css.shKopkins

JRV
March 14th, 2013, 03:32 PM
ubuntu-restricted-extras provides a lot of codecs for playing many audio/video files.
It is something you will want, but it does not play encrypted DVDs.

You need libdvdcss2 and w64codecs/w32codecs.

This link explains how to install them:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/RestrictedFormats/PlayingDVDs

SuperFreak
March 14th, 2013, 03:46 PM
I believe the Restricted Extras does in fact provide for playing back DVDs (see attachment)