PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Trying to get conky to work

sarar
March 13th, 2013, 12:08 AM
I installed conky, following the instructions from this link: http://geekyschmidt.com/2009/03/29/conky-setup
When i try to run the scripts or conky it doesn't work. Any suggestions? I'm a linux beginner and don't have a lot experience with any of these kinds of things.

Old_Grey_Wolf
March 13th, 2013, 12:57 AM
The Ubuntu Wiki for Conky may be of help to you.

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/SettingUpConky

stinkeye
March 13th, 2013, 02:15 AM
I don't know where your having problems but I couldn't even extract the downloads properly for a start.
He has left the period(.) out before tar.gz in the file names of each download.
eg
conky_scriptstar.gz should be
conky_scripts.tar.gz

Rename each download accordingly and then right click on each and choose extract here.
You then need to press ctrl+h to show hidden files to reveal the extracted .conkyrc file.
You should see as in attachment.

Now try again following his directions for placement of the extracted files.
Place the contents of the folders not the actual folders themselves into the directories named.

The .conkyrc file is just placed in your home folder.
This is the config conky looks for and loads when you run conky.
If conky can't find ~/.conkyrc it will load the default config which looks like second attachment.

sarar
March 13th, 2013, 03:39 AM
The problem seems to be LXDE. I've heard that other people have had trouble getting conky to work with LXDE and the pcman file manager. I can't get any conkyrc file to work for me. I keep getting this error message:
[1] 2161sarabuck@sarabuck-Gateway-M460:~$ WARNING: gnome-keyring:: couldn't connect to: /run/user/sarabuck/keyring-QQROmP/pkcs11: No such file or directory
Conky: invalid configuration file '/home/sarabuck/.conkyrc'

Conky: missing text block in configuration; exiting
***** Imlib2 Developer Warning ***** :
This program is calling the Imlib call: