PDA

View Full Version : Configuring VIM properly, cant get colorscheme to work

devync
March 12th, 2013, 09:28 PM
Hello, I have been trying to configure my vimrc file to my liking and for some reason I can't get colorscheme to work. It always says it can't find the colorscheme file. From what I can tell most my other settings work, just not colorscheme.

I did my research and people were saying you have to create your .vim file in ~/.vim and I also made a dir colors in ~/.vim/colors and put my colorscheme in there, but it still doesn't work. I have also found vimrc files in both /etc/vim and /usr/share/vim, so I am unsure of where I am actually supposed to be making my changes.

I am new to linux and vim, so if you would be so kindly to explain theses shenanigans to the laymen?

Thanks for any replies. I have been trying to figure this out for two days, and I hope the answer isn't too painfully obvious.:guitar:

spjackson
March 12th, 2013, 11:26 PM
The default color location is /usr/share/vim/vim*/colors/. Additional personal colors can be placed in ~/.vim/colors/.

Are you using vim in a terminal or a gui version (e.g. gvim)? colorscheme is different in a gui from in a terminal, at least with respect to background color (I'm not sure what else). If you start vim and type :colorscheme<space><tab> then you can keep tabbing through the available schemes. Of course, in gvim you can select it from the menu.

drmrgd
March 13th, 2013, 12:52 AM
Also to add to that, be sure that you're typing the color name exactly as it appears - case is important. For example, I use the colorscheme 'molokai' in my .vimrc. So, the line should read:

color molokai

Be careful not to enter 'Molokai' or 'MOLOKAI'.

devync
March 13th, 2013, 01:07 AM
The default color location is /usr/share/vim/vim*/colors/. Additional personal colors can be placed in ~/.vim/colors/.