PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu Server 12.04LTS Installation on Hardware RAID1

briancachia
March 9th, 2013, 08:51 PM
Hi,

I have been trying to install Ubuntu server on my rackmount server that supports hardware raid (it's been set up in the bios ). When I go to partition to logical volume that is supposedly created with the RAID1 configuration I find the 2 listed physical drives with their respective details of course.

my question is, how would i go to install ubuntu server on this machine with a raid1 setup please?

Thanks and i apologize for the lack of knowledge in the matter, I have no experience in raid configurations.

papibe
March 9th, 2013, 09:23 PM
Hi briancachia. Welcome to the forums ):P

When you use hardware RAID, only one device per RAID is presented to the OS. Thus, the OS doesn't even know that is working on RAID.

If in the installation process you are seeing both devices, my first guess would be that your RAID1 is not set up properly.

Let us know how it goes.
Regards.

briancachia
March 9th, 2013, 10:10 PM
thanks for your reply papibe,

when i m in bios and I view the logical drives a logical drive is listed so i m guessing that the RAID1 has been configured correctly eh?

Is there any know issues for 12.04LTS server for this kind of configuration?

Thanks again

tgalati4
March 9th, 2013, 10:44 PM
What is the server hardware? Many servers have separate RAID BIOS that you need to boot into with Control-S (Dell PowerEdge for instance). When in RAID BIOS, you set up the configuration and save it. It also helps to update the motherboard BIOS and RAID BIOS at this time, so you can benefit from fixes before installing your operating system. Once you have done this, the installation generally goes smoothly.

darkod
March 9th, 2013, 11:11 PM