PDA

View Full Version : srand(time(NULL)) error message

seeker.k3
March 8th, 2013, 10:52 AM
Hi
I'm not a programmer, but I want to get some C code to work for some study that I'm doing in cognitive psychology. It's a mathematical model; it does a calculation and returns a value. The code was written in 1996, and when I try to compile it (I'm typing gcc filename), I get a number of error messages. The main one relates to the random number generator.
The original code was:

#include "ran1.c"
/* random seed */
long IDUM = -3;

I have replaced only the first line with:

#include <time.h>

srand(time(NULL));
int r = rand();

but I get this message:

43:7: error: expected declaration specifiers or ‘...’ before ‘time’

44:1: error: initialiser element is not constant

I think I'm heading in the right direction, but I don't know enough about programming to get it right. I really don't want it to return the wrong value.
Any help would be appreciated. Thank you.

dwhitney67
March 8th, 2013, 12:16 PM
It would be immensely helpful to see the actual implementation you have versus a snip of code as you have provided.

A simple example of using srand() and rand() would be something like:

#include <stdlib.h>
#include <time.h>

const unsigned int MAX_NUM = 1000;

int main()
{
srand(time(NULL));

unsigned int num = rand() % MAX_NUM; // num can range from 0 through (MAX_NUM - 1)
}

steeldriver
March 8th, 2013, 12:58 PM
Just a note of caution about PRNGs - based on the name (ran1.c) and the negative-long seed (IDUM) it looks like you are trying to replace the Numerical Recipes implementation? If so, that's a long-period floating point PRNG - depending what your model is doing (and how many times it's doing it) the system rand() may or may not be a suitable replacement.

seeker.k3
March 9th, 2013, 02:14 AM
Thanks for your helpful comments. Any information I can gather is helpful.