PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing Version 12.04

meuser1
March 6th, 2013, 11:35 AM
Hi
I got my Dell Vostro 2520 few days back with Ubuntu 11.10.
I would like to know how I can install Ubuntu 12.04 either fresh (no important data as of now to backup) or as an upgrade as I need to install some software which runs only 12.04.

I tried to upgrade using update manager and I am getting an error like 'Authentication failed. there might be a problem with the server or with the network'. Not sure what this means and how to resolve.
I tried to run from command line and I got some messages as attached in the text file.
Particularly in the last line I got an error saying
"E:Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead."

Can some one help me in this. Desparately looking for a solution.
Thanks in advance

fballem
March 6th, 2013, 12:02 PM
Hi,

I've been using ubuntu for a few years. As a general rule, if I want to change to a new version, I will do a clean installation off of a CD or DVD (depends on the release). If you download and burn the latest release of 12.04, it will be 12.04.2, which installed on my PC with no issues.

The following link contains additional information and suggestions that may be helpful: https://wiki.ubuntu.com/fballem/Software%2012.04

Your laptop has Intel graphics, not nVidia graphics, so please ignore any instructions that relate to the nVidia drivers.

Hope this is of some help to you,

dino99
March 6th, 2013, 12:05 PM
for a fresh installation:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=2112995&p=12495221#post12495221

for an upgrade:

sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
there, change "oneiric" by "precise", then

sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get dist-upgrade

meuser1
March 6th, 2013, 12:25 PM
@dino99
Thanks for your inputs. I tried to save the changes in the sources.list, but I could not as the file has only read permission and the file is owned by root.