PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] how to automount usb devices by device name instead of uuid

sbalfour
March 6th, 2013, 03:31 AM
After upgrade from 10.10 to 11.10, ugly numbers appear everywhere instead of device names
like sda and hdb. This is grossly un-user-friendly. Nobody except device driver and kernel
developers needs to see strings like that. Consider how unlikely it is to get such a
number transcribed accurately if I have to type it into a terminal on another system, or get
the number over the phone while helping a remote user (I'm a sysadmin). They're all over
the boot files, too. 1) how do I get USB devices to automount with their device names like
they used to? 2) How do I get those ugly numbers out of the boot files and replaced with
whatever they used to be (presumably things like /dev/sda, etc)? For reference, I don't
see any such numbers in the Windows boot files or device directories, disk management, etc.

Don't suggest using volume labels... I didn't need them before, and I shouldn't need them now.
And I'd have to put those labels (unique ones, presumably) on dozens to hundreds of disks,
many of which I don't have direct access to.
Stuart

MAFoElffen
March 6th, 2013, 05:39 PM
This is probably going to get moved from I&U to elsewhere by a mod or admin... As I am trying to figure out how it relates to an Installation or Update. It is more a comment or opinion.

As it relates to sys admin and change management/control... IMHO opinion, you have more control and yet flexibility. You have the option to turn it off in /etc/default/grub for grub2. In that file, you have:

# Uncomment if you don't want GRUB to pass "root=UUID=xxx" parameter to Linux
#GRUB_DISABLE_LINUX_UUID=true

But from the Grub menu and/or CLI, you have the option to use either the UUID, the hdaX or sdX format to mount it. From current Linux, you have the option to use either UUID or sdX formats.