PDA

View Full Version : how do i modify where grub installs?

americancliche
February 24th, 2013, 08:53 AM
I have a raid set up 1Tb (500Gb x2) HP Envy 17. I have an Ubuntu 12.10 Live CD that i am attempting a clean install on. The installation goes great until it goes to install grub onto /dev/sda. When i do a boot repair, i have four different /dev/(insert name here). to be honest I dont know which one I should install the grub on, or even how to change it when i go to install in the first place. As far as I can tell SDA is a location that Ubuntu just imputs and hopes exists because it doesnt on my system, nor does SDB. If someone could A. tell me how to correctly select where to install my GRUB during install, and how to automatically do that I would be grateful. Option B is to tell me how to manually install it thru the GRUB GNU.
A couple of other things, I have NO experience in Linux, so please if you help me, break it down as simple as possible. Im in infancy as far as this is concerned.

When I get the Executing 'grub-install/dev/sdta' failed. This is a fatal error box, I hit OK. This takes me to the "Bootloader Install failed" box, which asks me how to proceed, to which i can "Choose different device to install", Continue without bootloader, or Cancel Install. As soon as i choose another device which I have the option of about 9; the "okay" box is no longer clickable so it doesnt give let me change the device from there.

Thats about all I guess. If you need more info, Its not difficult for me to replicate this.

Also I can screen shot my entire process if anyone wants to key me on how to Screen Shot in Ubuntu.

Laiquendi
February 24th, 2013, 10:28 AM
To determine where you want to istall GRUB, try running in a terminal in try linux mode on live cd:

df -hwhich will show you your partitions/discs.
Having partitions like xyz1 (and other numbers) means that you have xyz disc.
It is usually ok to put grub in the first disc.