PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Unistalling Windows Vista

D4RknEZz
February 23rd, 2013, 03:52 PM
Hello, I'm new to this forum (I'm a noob :D ). I just installed Ubuntu on my sister's laptop with Wubi. She has Windows Vista. So what I want to do, is uninstall Vista, so she would only have Ubuntu. Does it matter that I have installed Ubuntu via wubi, or can I uninstall Vista anyway? And if I can, how exactly can I do it?

howefield
February 23rd, 2013, 03:57 PM
Refer to here : https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide#How_do_I_migrate_to_a_real_partition.2C_ and.2BAC8-or_get_rid_of_Windows_entirely.3F

Although I'd say a clean install is going to be quicker, and much easier :-)

D4RknEZz
February 23rd, 2013, 04:25 PM
Refer to here : https://wiki.ubuntu.com/WubiGuide#How_do_I_migrate_to_a_real_partition.2C_ and.2BAC8-or_get_rid_of_Windows_entirely.3F

Although I'd say a clean install is going to be quicker, and much easier :-)

Thanks for your help.:D What do you mean exactly by "clean install"? How can I clean install ubuntu? Sorry, it's my first time using Ubuntu and I'm a noob.:P

offgridguy
February 23rd, 2013, 04:35 PM
Thanks for your help.:D What do you mean exactly by "clean install"? How can I clean install ubuntu? Sorry, it's my first time using Ubuntu and I'm a noob.:P
A clean install is a new install of the ubuntu version of your choice.
A wubi install is, ubuntu installed within windows. As a seperate program,
sort of.

Myself and many others prefer installing ubuntu, on it's own partition on
the HDD, alongside windows if you are dual booting or instead of , if you
want to replace windows entirely.

When you install from a live CD or USB stick, you will be given those options.
And welcome to the forums.:D

howefield
February 23rd, 2013, 04:48 PM

What I mean is install Ubuntu to its own partition or disk (or indeed by wiping out Windows) from a live CD/DVD or USB.