PDA

View Full Version : K.Mandla's big Gentoo adventure

K.Mandla
July 9th, 2006, 03:06 AM
I decided it was time to get my hands dirty. I have a spare laptop (yes, a spare ... everyone has spares, don't they?) installing now, and I'm picking my way through the howto guide.

This is a first for me; I cut my teeth on Ubuntu and dabbled in Arch a little, but Gentoo seems like a necessary next step. I want this to be a learning experience, even if it falls flat.

So far I'm fairly comfortable with the process. I like the idea of booting into a live environment and building the system underneath you.

Of course, I'm just getting started and I'm taking it as slowly and carefully as I can. I managed to download the stage 3 tarball and the portage files, even though I'm not sure yet what they do.

The test machine is a 1Ghz Dell Inspiron 8100. I decided on a laptop instead of a desktop, because I understand that it can take days to build a system, and I'd rather run a 60W adapter than a 300W PS for days on end. :)

Wish me luck! [-o< If you have any advice, I'd be more than happy to hear it.

K.Mandla
July 9th, 2006, 04:35 PM
Well, the first try didn't work out so well, but I blame myself for that. I partitioned the hard drive in a way that differed from the manual, then couldn't remember what I had done. The startup yielded a kernel panic, so I'm starting over.

Thus far though, it has been exceptionally educational. All the commands and configurations I had taken for granted are a little clearer now.

But yes, setting it up does seem to take a long time.

K.Mandla
July 10th, 2006, 04:45 PM
Hey, wow. I did it. It works. Of course, I have no network because I messed that up. And I can't exactly do anything, but it boots. Didn't take as long as I thought it would. Cool. ;)

tseliot
July 11th, 2006, 01:41 PM