PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu, xfce, lxde and system optimization

motocollage
February 18th, 2013, 04:03 AM
Hello All,

I'm currently running 12.04LTS on my older acer aspire D250 as a dual-boot with windows 7 starter. I love everything linux/open source! I'm an artist currently in my terminal (MFA) program, attempting to specialize in New Media and installation. Basically, any materials or technology I can get my hands on I want to turn into some sort of other-worldly thing.

So, not sure where to start, but I've only really asked for help on the forums for one major problem, and I was ASTOUNDED how awesome the community is. Another user jumped on my problem, and it was great being able to perform under the hood maintenance to my computer. This is my current goal:

I am running 12.04 on my netbook, with some Xubuntu packages installed as well. I want to understand what the difference is when I log in via a different GUI/shell. I'm assuming my Home folder stays the same, but I've noticed each GUI (unity/gnome, xfce, or more?) requires different packages when updating. Or seemingly. What I'd really like to do is see if/how I can remove the packages for Xubuntu and replace it with Lubuntu. If i understand correctly, LXDE is the GUI for Lubuntu (which I really like), while XFCE is for Xubuntu. Now is Unity completely different from GNOME, or is it a derivation? At any rate, I like Unity on my netbook, but sometimes switch and would like that to be LXDE. That, and maybe some pointers on some general maintence I can do to my netbook (Janitor, clean out old packages, understand how best to optimize my resources, etc.)

Anyone interested in tackling any of these problems?

motocollage
February 18th, 2013, 04:04 AM
Oh, and when I set up my info on the forum, I was running 10.10. Can I seriously not change my info until I've had 25 posts?

Bucky Ball
February 18th, 2013, 04:08 AM
All good but I suggest you split this into three separate threads to avoid confusion.