PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Any good, detailed tutorials on dual boot installation?

ChrisInNevada
February 16th, 2013, 12:44 AM
Hi, I am a newbie here. I have windows 7 loaded and want to install Ubuntu 12.04 and create a dual boot. I've never done this before. Does anybody know here can I find a good tutorial that covers the elements and recommendations for installing, partitioning and partition size, etc?

Also, I need the highest level of security I can establish. If anyone has any recommendations there regarding firewalls and anti-virus, that would be helpful too. Thanks!

MAFoElffen
February 16th, 2013, 04:39 AM
Hi, I am a newbie here. I have windows 7 loaded and want to install Ubuntu 12.04 and create a dual boot. I've never done this before. Does anybody know here can I find a good tutorial that covers the elements and recommendations for installing, partitioning and partition size, etc?

Also, I need the highest level of security I can establish. If anyone has any recommendations there regarding firewalls and anti-virus, that would be helpful too. Thanks!

I've been around the block... I've lead people through this.

Before recommending details. It would be nice to know what hardware it is going on... You can get those details from Win7:
CPU
RAM Size
Exisitng partitions and how much of it is actually used now.
Video GPU

Basically, Windows OS'es like to be near the top of the partition tree. That's where they run best. Linux doesn't care where it run's from.

Even though WUBI is a viable option for users, installing WUBI as started from Windows and running it in an image file... I stay away from and install as separate OS, safeguarded in separate partions. Faster and safer that way. Then you can use it to rescue Windows if needed.

Decide on a boot manager. Default for Ubuntu is Grub2. Very powerful and easy to install. Option is to use the Win boot manager, but not as easy to setup and maintain (manually). I recommend Grub2.