PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] win7 / Unbuntu

83RN15
February 10th, 2013, 08:41 AM
Hi, im happy to be part of this community.

Im a total noob at this platform and linux, i hope i get guided by someone around here, honestly i dont know where to start from, i just downloaded unbuntu but i havent installed it yet, i would like to run both my win7 and unbuntu in my laptop but i dont even know where to start from is there any sticky around here? for the noobs?

i want to learn everything. needed to know to form part of the whole linux experience.

Paqman
February 10th, 2013, 09:06 AM
Welcome to the forum!

First thing you want to do is get your download of Ubuntu onto a disk or USB stick so you can install it:

Create a USB stick (http://www.ubuntu.com/download/help/create-a-usb-stick-on-windows)
Create a DVD (http://www.ubuntu.com/download/help/burn-a-dvd-on-windows)

The you need to boot from your USB stick or DVD (http://www.ubuntu.com/download/help/try-ubuntu-before-you-install). You can try it out before you commit to installing it, but when you're ready the installer will help you get it installed (http://www.ubuntu.com/download/help/install-desktop-latest).

Locus Kiesselbachi
February 10th, 2013, 09:24 AM
Hello!
Little ranting here...
I would want to warn you about one thing:
Newest Ubuntu install does not compile with older computers, installation stops in middle and after that I dont know what happens if you want to put two OS side-by-side.
I installed newest (L)ubuntu to my old rig and it was stopped by some error, which is known bug(!). Error comes by loading some picture during installation.
If you have old computer, then go for version 11.10 Ubuntu.
I have Lubuntu, but doesnt feel like "can all be installed with mouse". Now its almost working as I want it to, but came with hassle, trial and error. It should not be like that.