PDA

View Full Version : How many distros have you used? And How long?

leeyee
July 8th, 2006, 02:06 PM
Hi guys,
I'd like to know how many distros have you used since you began with Linux, and what they are? I think most of us here are using Ubuntu now, then how long had you been with those bygone distros?

Here is mine:
I've been using Linux since mid-july 2005, and spent 7 months for Fedora4, 1 month for OpenSuse10.0. Now I'm on Ubuntu Dapper, it has been 4 months or so. I love it, very much!

Thanks for your replies!

slimdog360
July 8th, 2006, 02:23 PM
I started around the start of april this year with Ubuntu, I didnt love it so I installed Kubuntu to see what kde was like. Then I installed Mandrivia for about 10 minutes then came running back to Ubuntu.
Ive also just recently(a couple of days ago) installed FC5 on my laptop. Its alright but I dont like some aspects so Im changing back to Ubuntu tomorrow when I put a new hdd in it.
thats about it.

raldz
July 8th, 2006, 02:29 PM
1. Mandrake 9.2
2. Mandriva 2005
3. Ubuntu 5.04 /Kubuntu 5.04
4. SUSE 10.0
5. Ubuntu 5.10 /Kubuntu 5.10
5. MEPIS 3.4-3 (using it until now)
6. Fedora Core 5 (discontinued use last June 2006)
7. SUSE 10.1 (using it until now)
8. Ubuntu 6.06 /Kubuntu 6.06 (using and loving it)

and tried several other distros like PCLinuxOS, Kanotix, Knoppix, DSL, Xandros..

I've decided from the trend and ease of use to stick with Ubuntu/Kubuntu, MEPIS, and SUSE.. I'll be using this distros continously on different machines..

bruce89
July 8th, 2006, 02:32 PM
Mandrake 7.2 (test)
Ubuntu 4.10
Ubuntu 5.04
Ubuntu 5.10
Ubuntu 6.06 LTS

(as you can see, pretty faithful to Ubuntu)
I have also used the Kororaa XGL LiveCD for about 10 minutes for fun.

hard_i
July 8th, 2006, 03:21 PM
1. Suse 9.x - First distro, January 2005 - lasted about 2 days
2. End of january, tried Debian. Lasted about a week.
Then tried Ubuntu 4.10 .. and so it began >
3. Ubuntu 5.04
4. Ubuntu 5.10
5. Ubuntu 6.06

richbarna