PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Attempting 12.04 install on Macbook Pro 6,2

leptone55
February 9th, 2013, 01:37 AM
Hello all,

Please forgive me if this is a repeat question, I've been searching for a solution for weeks.

Also, I have been really enjoying using Ubuntu for the last couple months but I am admittedly a complete noob. I really am at my wits end here and I don't know what is going on. For these reasons I have walked you through step-by-step everything I've tried, everything I see, what I tried next what I saw next.

Any help at fixing or understanding these issues will be so very appreciated!

I am attempting to install Ubuntu 12.04 on my MacBook Pro 6,2 (Intel HD Graphics, NVIDIA GeForce GT 330m) alongside OSX using refit. With this guide: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/MactelSupportTeam/AppleIntelInstallation

I have a USB disk that I made on a PC with "Universal USB Installer." I have verified this disk by booting to Ubuntu from it on my PC, no problem.

When I put the disk in my Mac and boot refit shows 5 options:
1. Boot EFI\ubuntu\grubx64.efi from EFI
Picture of three blocks(orange, blue and green) with a Macintosh HD icon in the lower right

2. Boot Mac OS X from Macintosh HD
Apple icon with Mac HD icon in lower right

3. Boot EFI\boot\bootx64.efi from PENDRIVE
Same three blocks this time with a orange drive icon in the lower right

4. Boot Legacy OS from HD
Four grey squares is a diamond formation. Mac HD icon in lower right.

5. Boot Linux from PENDRIVE
Tux icon with orange disk icon in lower right.

I believe (1) is left over from when I had 12.10 on this Mac. I tried to remove it by wiping the partition.
If I boot to (1):
"rEFit - booting OS
Starting grubx64.efi
error: no such partition.
grub rescue>"

(2) Boots OS X no problem

(4 & 5) *i have no idea what (4) is i've never seen it before.
Show the icon either tux or squares then boots to a black screen that says: "Missing operating system"

(3) Boots to: