PDA

View Full Version : is this app idea possible?

3v3rgr33n
February 9th, 2013, 12:41 AM
Hi

I'm a University student. The varsity allocates about 3gigs of data per month for each student. My friends normally finish their data before the end of the month and hassle me for mine.

The thing is --- we each have passwords. The problem I have is that they want me to give them my password. You might think --- it's not a big deal since you can change it.

The problem however is that I cannot recycle my passwords as with the university password system -- you cannot change your password to a previous one for security reasons.

I've been meaning to build an app that can create a temp. password for my account.
Is this possible and how would one go about doing it?

Regards

r-senior
February 9th, 2013, 01:13 AM
You should already have a password generator called apg that generates strong passwords:

$ apg

Please enter some random data (only first 16 are significant)
(eg. your old password):>
Felbyet2 (Felb-yet-TWO)
OthOmmuIpOs8 (Oth-Om-mu-Ip-Os-EIGHT)
ojDaffyab8 (oj-Daff-yab-EIGHT)
yedguAjnot8 (yed-gu-Aj-not-EIGHT)
ErfLckFam8 (Erf-Lck-Fam-EIGHT)
madBirb4 (mad-Birb-FOUR)

3v3rgr33n
February 9th, 2013, 10:21 AM
I don't want to just generate passwords.

I want to generate TEMPORARY passwords for a specific account!

SuperCamel
February 9th, 2013, 12:59 PM
I don't want to just generate passwords.

I want to generate TEMPORARY passwords for a specific account!

How will passwords be set? Will the password expire and change after a period of time? You say you can't recycle passwords so the password can't be reset to what it was originally, right?

3v3rgr33n
February 9th, 2013, 02:48 PM
How will passwords be set? Will the password expire and change after a period of time? You say you can't recycle passwords so the password can't be reset to what it was originally, right?

1. Will the password expire and change after a period of time?

Yes!