PDA

View Full Version : Turned to the dark side...

Mikeb85
February 7th, 2013, 05:38 AM
Or maybe the light side...

Been playing around with SBCL Common Lisp, Emacs and Slime, and I must say, it's been alot of fun. I've read much about the virtues of Lisp and Emacs and while I'm not sure about the Kool-Aid, it is a pretty nice setup all around.

Took me a little bit of time to set everything up and get things working, but after I realized where I went wrong (Quicklisp is my friend!), it's actually remarkably easy to set up.

Anyone else hack on Common Lisp? I'm not sure if it's particularly practical yet, but since I'm not a developer and never plan to be, I can waste time trying to build a personal project with it. There are some really cool things people have put on Github, HH-Web is what I'm playing with, looks promising (though I'm not sure how it will stack up to things like Rails).

CptPicard
February 7th, 2013, 01:32 PM
Glad you've seen the light, at least to some degree. ;)

SBCL in particular is a pretty awesome piece of software. With it, the distinction between interpreter and compiler doesn't really exist and you can just choose at which level of abstraction you want to operate on, and do that on live code, no less.

My own Lisp interests revolve around Clojure these days, but Common Lisp is certainly nice as well.

I would suggest though that you do not evaluate Lisp too much based on actual practicality in the real world (as in, versus Rails in web development); the lessons to be learned are deeper and more general in nature.

ofnuts
February 7th, 2013, 04:58 PM
I would suggest though that you do not evaluate Lisp too much based on actual practicality in the real world [...] the lessons to be learned are deeper and more general in nature.
Hmm. So that means:

Lisp isn't a language for practical programming
It teaches you things nevertheless

Drawing the necessary conclusions, either:

The things Lisp teaches have no practical use, then why bother?