PDA

View Full Version : I feel lost in the file hierarchy

Hulkiedulkie
February 7th, 2013, 03:24 AM
I've been working with Ubuntu server for some 3 years now. The learning curve is steep at times, but I've managed to cross many hurdles.

Today (again) I was unable to locate a certain library to link to. I ended up doing it with find (again).

This is a recurring pattern. After 3 years of frequent use of Ubuntu I still feel lost in the folder structure. Binaries, headers, libraries, config files seem to be all over the place. This is really offputting and makes me think I will never "master" linux.

This seems like a very big flaw of Ubuntu (perhaps Unix more widely). Can't the devs get together and just force everyone to use standard directories? Or perhaps make a /programs directory to put standalone apps entirely in their own folder?

Discuss.

SeijiSensei
February 7th, 2013, 03:39 AM
I recommend you start with this: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Filesystem_Hierarchy_Standard

A quick overview:

/bin, /sbin - contain binaries that can be run in single-user mode before the system goes multi-user; sbin contains binaries that usually require root privileges ("supervisor bin")

/usr/bin, /usr/sbin - binaries that are available in multi-user mode; most regular applications reside in /usr/bin, but things like server daemons that require root privileges to start are in /usr/sbin.

The /programs directory you seek is generally /usr/bin.

/lib, /usr/lib - same relationship to each other as /bin and /usr/bin; the kernel libraries are in /lib, for instance, since they are needed at boot and in single-user mode

/etc contains nearly all the configuration files that matter. Some are at the root of that directory; others are in program-specific folders like /etc/apache2.

/usr/share has auxiliary files like fonts, documentation, etc.