PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem upgrading from 10.04 LTS to 12.04 LTS - get grub prompt

GiancarloRed
February 4th, 2013, 03:42 PM
I am a Linux newbie who has tried to update from Ubuntu 10.04 LTS (which I´ve used for 3 years) to 12.04 LTS on my Dell desktop using update manager, thought all was working well, even though my HD partition desktop is small (just 20gb) and commentary stated short disk space. I am now faced with the sole grub prompt, GNU Grub version 1.98-1ubuntu13 and the comment ¨Minimal BASH-like editing...¨. What do I do from here? Could anyone please advise? It´s my main computer I am worried I won´t be able to access my data (that I have not backed up fully). Can I try to go back to 10.04 or boot from USB?

schragge
February 4th, 2013, 03:53 PM
Try this.

grub> search.file /boot/grub/grub.cfg root
grub> set prefix=($root)/boot/grub
grub> insmod normal
grub> normal

GiancarloRed
February 7th, 2013, 03:09 PM
Thanks for the advice, have tried what you suggested but get an error message(s)

error: no module specified
error: no suitable mode found
error: unknown command ´terminal´
syntax error
incorrect command
grub>

Have I done something wrong?

What else could I try?

All help really appreciated, open to try solutions.

GiancarloRed
February 7th, 2013, 03:33 PM
Should I try to boot via usb with 12.04? Will I be able to access my data - that is my primary concern?

PowerBarry43
February 7th, 2013, 04:00 PM
Hi

You could boot from a livecd and chroot in but i find it's easier to download a supergrub boot disk

http://www.supergrubdisk.org/category/download/supergrub2diskdownload/

you just download the iso about 7mb (first mirror seems broken but the second one works) burn it to a cd and boot from it, choose "detect any os" and it's probably the top one if you have a single boot system.

You have now booted into your new install
from here we can open up a terminal (CTRL+ALT+T) and run

sudo grub-install /dev/sda
sudo update-grub