PDA

View Full Version : Java and Scala

Majorix
February 2nd, 2013, 11:10 PM
I am a Software Engineering student, and one of the languages I like to use is Java. I would consider myself an intermediate Java programmer, since I haven't really touched that many advanced concepts yet.

A few days ago, I came across this language called Scala. I looked at a few examples.

However I am undecided if I want to take the bite and start learning it. Would it be beneficial to use Scala instead of Java, in both becoming a better software developer, and for job opportunities?

trent.josephsen
February 2nd, 2013, 11:50 PM
Since I've never seen a job posting that said anything about Scala, but dozens upon dozens for Java (been job hunting recently, albeit in the US), I'd say Scala specifically is probably not going to help you get a job, unless you're lucky.

That's not to say you shouldn't learn it; having a variety of languages on your resume is an asset regardless of what they are. But I have two extra pieces of advice:

1) Get to know at least one language really well. Know it well enough that when you sit down at the screen you don't have to continually refer to a book or the Internet. Knowing how to use one language effectively is better than knowing how to write "hello, world" 100 different ways. Skipping from one language to the next just says that you get bored easily; pick one and stick with it until you think "intermediate" doesn't give you enough credit.

2) Do real-world projects. Lots of languages on your CV may get you an interview, but having done real work that you can talk about during the interview will land you a job. Set clearly defined goals for your projects so that you can show your interviewer how you met them; have photos or screencaps that show the final product in action; document your time to demonstrate your ability to focus. People will be more impressed by "This is my Arduino door-closer" than the bare number of languages you claim to know.