PDA

View Full Version : Wine error:"no such file or directory"

midwestmac
February 1st, 2013, 05:43 PM
I'm a Newbie using Lubuntu 12.04

I was hoping someone can point me in the right direction.
I have installed (with the synpatic manager) Wine1.4, winetricks, wine1.4 i386 ,wine gecko1.4, wine1.4common.

From the GUI I can open programs/accessories/notepad (It works.)
But if I click on "Browse C drive" I get Error "No such file or directory"
If I click on "Wine Tricks" (it does nothing)
If I click on "configure Wine" (it pops up fine and everything looks to be there)

I have this listed " ppa.launchpad.net/ubuntu-wine/ppa/ubuntu" in Synpatic

I even tried to install from the terminal and still get "no such file or directory" from the GUI.

I searched for bugs relating to this but only found this "http://itgeo.info/wine/ "
tried " sudo Kate" but "Kate" isn't a command.

Any ideas ? thanks

cmcanulty
February 1st, 2013, 06:39 PM
I have had better luck with wine by putting the exe files in /home/yourname/.wine/drive_c/Program Files/

Tweak42
February 2nd, 2013, 01:07 AM
I haven't used Lubuntu but most things should work and be in the same places as vanilla ubuntu.

From the GUI I can open programs/accessories/notepad (It works.)
But if I click on "Browse C drive" I get Error "No such file or directory"
As cmcanulty mentioned above this directory should be located in:
/home/<username>/.wine/drive_c/You should be able to browse there with the file manager, but you may need to show hidden files because the "." at the start of the name denotes it as hidden.

If I click on "Wine Tricks" (it does nothing)
Try opening a terminal and running "winetricks". Report back any error messages.

If I click on "configure Wine" (it pops up fine and everything looks to be there)

I have this listed " ppa.launchpad.net/ubuntu-wine/ppa/ubuntu" in Synpatic

I even tried to install from the terminal and still get "no such file or directory" from the GUI.