PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Shut down durring Ubuntu 11.10 update System76 Starling

drewfish
January 30th, 2013, 06:31 PM
I have had a System76 Starling for a while now, but I have just used it for basics like internet and word so am still a total newbie to ubuntu. I went to upgrade the other day to 11.10.1 (or .4?) it looked like everything installed ok, but then it wasn't doing anything for a while and stupid me I shut it down (i know, i know! already kicking myself in the you-know-what for this).
Now when I turn it on i get a screen with:

GNU GRUB version 1.99-12ubuntu5.1

and the following options inside a box:

Ubuntu, with Linux 3.0.0-29-generic
Ubuntu, with Linux 3.0.0-29-generic (recovery mode)
Previous Linux versions
Memory test (memtest86+)
Memory test (memtest86+, serial console 115200)

I have tried selecting a various combo of the first three and they ultimately lead to a Recovery Menu (filesystem state: read-only) where I can select resume, clean, dpkg, failsafeX, fsck, grub, network, root, and system summary. I have tried resume and it takes me to a screen that looks like it is trying to load Ubuntu 11.10, but just keeps cycling through the dots. (also tried to do dpkg but I cannot arrow down to select it?)

Any suggestions?

Bashing-om
January 30th, 2013, 10:38 PM
drewfish; Hi ! Welcome to the forum.

Try this and advise results:
In that grub menu with the first kernel entry highlighted; press the "e" key for edit mode;
Arrow down to the line containing the term "quiet splash" insert the term "text" within the quote marks, remove - quiet splash -. Ctl+x to continue to boot, This hopefully enables one to see boot messages and boots to a command line interface login (textural).
login: username and password.
What results from the terminal commands:

sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
sudo apt-get -f install
dpkg --configure -a

hth

drewfish
January 31st, 2013, 12:20 AM
Hi Bashing-om! Thanks for getting back to me!