PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Problem installing Ubuntu alongside Windows

utkan
January 30th, 2013, 02:35 PM
Hi, I'm new to Linux World, though I'm an Android user on mobile. I have downloaded Ubuntu 12.10 and burnt it onto a disc then restared computer. I chose the option to install it alongside Windows but when I click next, installation gets interrupted and my computer restarts, and on the screen says "Please remove the disk, close the tray (if any) and press ENTER to continue" I had Ubuntu 12.04 but same problem also occured with it as well. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm running Windows 8 32-bit.

omeomi
January 30th, 2013, 02:53 PM
Try burning the ISO on the lowest speed or at least a very low speed.

Does the installer give any error message or other output when it crashes?

utkan
January 30th, 2013, 02:58 PM
Try burning the ISO on the lowest speed or at least a very low speed.

Does the installer give any error message or other output when it crashes?

No, just "Remove the CD" error and computer restarts.

Also I found this - I think that's the solution for my problem:

This is to remove the hard pause and the CD eject message when powering down Statler, running from a persistent Live-USB key:

1) Browse (as root) to /etc/init.d/live-boot.
2) Make backup copy of the file.
3) Open file with Gedit (right click and select "Open as root").
4) Remove EXACTLY these lines only: lines 150 - 177 (highlight them and delete).
5) Save file, you are done!

http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=9582

How do I exactly browse? Something like command prompt on Windows? I have live CD on and trying Ubuntu now.

omeomi
January 30th, 2013, 03:03 PM
Also I found this - I think that's the solution for my problem:
[B]
This is to remove the hard pause and the CD eject message when powering down Statler, running from a persistent Live-USB key: