PDA

View Full Version : What will move you away from a dual boot PC

waltd
January 29th, 2013, 01:30 PM
Hi all,
I'm new to ubuntu and Linux. I love Ubuntu, the Linux ecosphere and community. But here's two reasons I keep a dual boot PC with Windows and Ubuntu until I find a solution.
1. Quicken - I keep it because it has several features, like automatic reconcile, I can't be without. Doesn't work well in Wine.
2. VPN - most VPN types don't come out of the box with Ubuntu. Installing the missing VPN types is challenging.

BlinkinCat
January 29th, 2013, 01:36 PM
Hi waltd,

Firstly don't concern yourself about dual booting.

Quite a high proportion of members would do just that too - :P

fyfe54
January 29th, 2013, 03:06 PM
Turbotax is the ONLY thing I need that requires Windows.. No Linux version and is useless in Wine.

Umbra Diaboli
January 29th, 2013, 03:28 PM
Set up a Windows VirtualBox with Oracle's VB - that way you wont have to dual boot, and you'll be able to share your files between Ubuntu and Windows.

waltd
January 29th, 2013, 03:38 PM
Turbotax is the ONLY thing I need that requires Windows.. No Linux version and is useless in Wine.

May I suggest using the Turbo Tax web site. The desktop program is no longer needed. All the functions that are in the desk top program are now on the web site. I've been doing my taxes online for many years. :D

waltd
January 29th, 2013, 03:42 PM
Set up a Windows VirtualBox with Oracle's VB - that way you wont have to dual boot, and you'll be able to share your files between Ubuntu and Windows.

An Oracle VB is a good idea. Is it working ok for you? Any problems?

omeomi
January 29th, 2013, 03:42 PM

After having had a dual boot for many years, I find this solution fits all of my needs entirely. And even with that I think I only used the virtual machine about 4 times in the last year...

Aside from programs that require heavy graphics everything runs perfect in a virtual machine.

montag dp
January 29th, 2013, 03:53 PM