PDA

View Full Version : No desktop

jfbooth
January 27th, 2013, 08:03 PM
Xubuntu 12.10

This computer is an old WIN ME machine with only 512MB of memory. I wanted to go to a 'lightweight' browser . so I installed MIDORI. All well and good.

It also has a very small capacity hard drive (18GB) so I try to uninstall anything I don't need.

I am also a LINUX rookie. I should mention total confusion between GNOME, XFCE, KDE, desktops/environments and the like. I somehow got this machine to look/feel the way I liked it .. I think by invoking XFCE some time ago.

Sooo, I uninstalled 'Web Browser' .. which warned me that I would also uninstall SEVERAL other things .. like THUNAR file manager. Fine .. I 'went for it'. Came back up, and sure enough, several aps were gone .. so I installed XFS file manager LOVE IT.

Then .. I did some more uninstalls ... and yes .. I don't remember what they all were .. I did it 'intuitively' and seemed like a good thing to do.

Now, when I boot up, I get:

'unable to launch "startxfce4" X session NOT Found, falling back to default session'.

and a totally empty desktop ... only wallpaper. Cannot see anything BUT wallpaper. I done 'bricked' the desktop.

HALP, ... please!! Thank you in advance.

sidzen
January 27th, 2013, 08:10 PM
Can you get to tty console with Ctrl-Alt-F1 (thru F6) and get back with Ctrl-Alt-F7?

ibjsb4
January 27th, 2013, 11:47 PM
Without knowing what you removed, its difficult to know how to fix.

Since this seems to be a fresh install maybe it would be best just to reinstall Xubuntu. 12o4 is supported for 5 years.

Peripheral Visionary
January 28th, 2013, 12:42 AM
It sounds like you have made a mishmash mixture of settings and tools from different desktop environments.