PDA

View Full Version : Blank desktop screen on boot

DominicC
January 27th, 2013, 03:21 PM
Ok so, I have some experience with Ubuntu but not much. (I have been using it on a laptop for about a year)

Basically my dad asked me to install Ubuntu on to this ancient PC he got on Ebay. I ran some basic checks and the PC worked fine. (It even still had Windows XP installed.)

At first I tried to use the .exe to install Ubuntu alongside Windows. This appeared to work but upon selecting Ubuntu in the boot menu I was unable to select it and nothing happens.

Then I wiped the PC and replaced Windows with Ubuntu using a DVD. Now Ubuntu seemed to install correctly, but, when I restarted after the install I am taken to a blank desktop. (Not a blank screen, just a desktop without the sidebars)

There are no error messages and I can even right-click and create new folders, but the main Unity sidebar is missing and so is the bar at the top.

I did a Google search but couldn't seem to find anything similar.

Anyone know why this happens/How to fix it? I can post the hardware specs if needed.

bogan
January 27th, 2013, 08:40 PM
Hi!, DominicC,

If this is ubuntu 12.10:
Right Click in the Desktop>Change Desktop Background> All Settings>Software Sources> Additional Drivers Tab.
Activate Video driver. Reboot

If that does not work, try 'Ctrl+Alt+F1', that should give a TTY, Text Terminal, and a login prompt. Enter your username and press 'Enter', then your password - it will not show & 'Enter'.

Post the output of:
uname -r
lspci -nnk | grep -iA3 vga
startx and explain how far things get for more instructions.

[ If necessary 'Ctrl+Alt+F7'should return you to the GUI screen.]

Chao!, bogan.

ACubed10
January 28th, 2013, 04:39 AM
Hmm will this work with 12.04. When I install it I get to the desktop. No window managers but can right click and get a menu. Might try this. 12.10 work out of box with my graphics card but I prefer to stay LTS

bogan
January 28th, 2013, 10:08 PM