PDA

View Full Version : I want to make FOSS for a living. How?

rectec794613
January 26th, 2013, 09:22 AM
Hello, community. Lend a figurative ear to me, please.

Right now I'm in my junior (11th) year of high school. To be brief, I'm at that point in life where future academic and professional interests start to take over my current interests.

Now for a little backstory. I've been using Ubuntu ever since I got my first (working) computer, back in late 2007, when I was 11. Since then my knowledge of operating systems, GNU/Linux, technology, graphics, audio, everything has flourished beyond the skill level of any of my fellow students. I'm not a smug guy and I don't like showing off, but if there's one thing I'm proud of, it's this perfect click with technology that I seem to have.

Now that I'm at this grade level in high school, it's time for everybody to start focusing on their future, which I've been doing for a while actually.

I'll get to the point... I am aspiring to become involved, professionally, in software development. Programming, interface design, things like that. I want to make free and open source software. I want to give back to the community, which has provided wonderful free software (including but not limited to Ubuntu) that has really inspired me to return the favor.

But how will I make a living doing this? The only idea I have is working for Canonical, but is that my only option? Will I even get paid enough to support a family and a roof over their heads? I'd love to make free software, but I'll need to move out of my parent's house eventually. Can't have kids or a wife staying there either. What about Google? Very funny. The universities will no doubt want me to go the more traditional route, and work for the usual companies like Microsoft, Adobe, etc. and make proprietary software, and they'll brainwash me (sarcasm)... do not want this future, to say the least.