PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] D-Link WUA-2340 USB Wireless Adapter

Pyramist
January 25th, 2013, 10:35 AM
Hey everyone how's it going? I've decided to install Ubuntu 12.10 on my old Dell Desktop instead of Windows XP to try it out. I use a D-Link WUA-2340 USB Wireless Adapter on that computer to connect to the internet (no built in wireless adapter). I did a clean install of Ubuntu 12.10 via a Pen Drive USB. And this is where my issue comes in: A) I have no internet access even while installing the OS and B) Once it's all installed and I log in, I get a blank background and an error message telling me that "Compiz has closed unexpectedly). This is my first time with Ubuntu so I'm pretty inexperienced. I do have access to the internet on my laptop (Windows 7), so if there's anyway to transfer the drivers or whatever I need from the laptop to the desktop via USB, that would be awesome.

I've done some research and found people with similar problems, but not all of these problems at the same time. I've tried a few methods I've seen online but to no avail. Any help would be sincerely appreciated. Thanks!!

omeomi
January 25th, 2013, 10:50 AM
A) You will need ndiswrapper to install the driver, see this thread: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=861855

B) You probably don't have the right videodriver installed yet. For now you can try logging in using the 2D unity version (select in the login screen) which should work. Once you get the internet fixed you will probably be able to install the right driver

meteorrock
January 25th, 2013, 10:58 AM
Try to use a 'hypervisor' to put that ubuntu distro you want to use on your dell machine. That way you can get that distro up and installed in a "virtual hard drive" and get it up and going. You can later choose to do a dual boot option later if you like it.