PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Use gui to set up and then run without later?

Norsehound
January 23rd, 2013, 09:02 PM
I am brand new to using linux(migrated from OS X and WIndows 7). I decided to use an old computer to set up a minecraft server for my friends and I. I am currently running ubuntu server without gui(hopefully for better speed). So far so good, but the command prompt really takes some getting used to (not to worry, I plan on learning it. Picked up some books and am well on my way). My questions are; can you install a gui in ubuntu server, and can you use a gui to set up the computer the way you like (ie static ip, etc) and then run the os in command line only(no gui mode, or something) when i get everything set up right? If so will it be as efficient as if you never installed the gui in the first place? Thank you for the responses in advance! Much appreciated =)

drdos2006
January 23rd, 2013, 10:28 PM
Here is a HOWTO which I found comprehensive and invaluable for me to start learning about server requirements. Based on Debian so just change the OS name to Ubuntu as you already have Ubuntu set up.

Allows your local browser to connect and modify your server settings on your network, start and stop processes, change permissions etc.

Are you using the most current version of this how-to?
Version numbers are located @ top right of this page. Latest versions are available at my homepage http://woodel.com
Under the Solutions tab
"Setting up a Linux Server, Start to Finish, using Webmin". By Kevin Elwood

And on your server..........

Logon to your server and download from your server with :
sudo wget http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/webadmin/webmin_1.610_all.deb

Install with :
sudo dpkg -i webmin_1.610_all.deb

Add extra libraries with :
sudo apt-get -f install

regards

TheFu
January 23rd, 2013, 10:59 PM