PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Deleting user settings at reboot



Huggyray
January 22nd, 2013, 01:09 PM
Hi all,
I've got a number of laptops that we use at sheltered housing scheme for young people.
I've installed Ubuntu to save on costs and love it but one question.
The laptops will be used by a number of different users and its important that when the laptop is rebooted, all previous user settings, surfing history etc etc is deleted. Essentially you get a clean build every time you start the laptop.
I used to use a piece of software from Comodo which took a snapshot of the installation and you could then password protect it and set it to restore on reboot.
Does something like this exist for Linux?

Regards

Cheesemill
January 22nd, 2013, 02:40 PM
Just don't give out the password for the main account and make all the users use the guest account instead. The guest account is wiped every time it is logged off.