PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Grub doesn't find my first disk after new install

Snapcase
January 18th, 2013, 02:32 PM
I just installed the KXStudio 12.04 iso in a second HD. I previously had a dual boot disk with two booting partitions for Win XP and Kubuntu 12.10. These two don't show anymore in the Grub menu after the install. It only boots in KXS.

I'm pretty new to Linux, Don't know where to start.

Thanks in advance.

grahammechanical
January 18th, 2013, 03:04 PM
When you installed KXstudio onto the second hard disk did you have the first hard disk connected?

If you did not then the Grub boot loader from KXstudio does not know about the other hard disk.

In a terminal in KXstudio run

sudo update-grub

and paste a copy of the output from that command. Does it list XP and Kubuntu (may be as 12.10 on sda)?

If it finds these 2 other OS, then see what happens when you reboot. Remember, the Grub boot loader from KXstudio is now in control of the boot process. If you want the Grub from Kubuntu to be in control ( you might at some time in the future remove the second hard disk and be unable to boot), you should

1) Boot into Kubuntu.
2) run

sudo update-grub

3) run

sudo grub-install /dev/sda

If the XP/Kubuntu hard disk is the first hard disk.

Regards.

Snapcase
January 18th, 2013, 03:19 PM
Yes, both disks were connected. Here is the output. They don't show.

Generating grub.cfg ...
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-36-generic-pae
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-36-generic-pae
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-3.2.0-35-lowlatency
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-3.2.0-35-lowlatency
Found memtest86+ image: /boot/memtest86+.bin
Found KXStudio 12.04.1 (12.04) on /dev/sda1

So... the former first disk is now /dev/sdb?

Snapcase
January 18th, 2013, 03:23 PM
According to Gparted they're the opposite as listed by Grub. KXStudio is on /dev/sdb and Win and Kubuntu on /deb/sda...

darkod
January 18th, 2013, 04:16 PM