PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Boot Repair problem

ben222qmz7
January 14th, 2013, 12:49 PM
Hello to all!

I am a complete beginner with Ubuntu and Linux.

I removed Ubuntu 12.04 (installed with a USB-stick) from my HP- lap top and then I had to use Boot Repair to be able to start Winxppro again.

Now I wanted to install Ubuntu again, but the installation does not start at all but goes direct to Windows. I suppose BR changed something so that the computer cannot find the USB-HDD.

The BR-report:http://paste2.org/p/2725842

As I would like to test various versions again
I would be very grateful for any help.

TheFu
January 14th, 2013, 01:14 PM
Anytime you want to boot off something other than the first hard disk, you need to tell the BIOS the boot device and boot order.

Also, not all USB flash drives can boot from every USB port. I'd setup a new Ubuntu installer using Yumi http://www.pendrivelinux.com/yumi-multiboot-usb-creator/. This is what we use at my LUG for installfests.

I suspect all that boot-repair did was set the default timeout for booting Windows to 0 seconds. You could probably rerun BR and force the timeout to be longer, if you like. Yumi really is a great solution for creating multi-boot USB flash drives, however.

ben222qmz7
January 14th, 2013, 01:47 PM
I suspect all that boot-repair did was set the default timeout for booting Windows to 0 seconds. You could probably rerun BR and force the timeout to be longer, if you like. Yumi really is a great solution for creating multi-boot USB flash drives, however.

Thanks fo your quick reply. Yes, I think the timeout might be the problem.

As far as I remember correctly there was not any possibility to set any timeout adjustments when I used the program.

How can I find these settings?

TheFu
January 14th, 2013, 02:00 PM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair didn't help?

ben222qmz7
January 14th, 2013, 02:27 PM
https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair didn't help?